» Members: 450
» Latest member: mclaren99uk
» Forum threads: 479
» Forum posts: 2,744

Full Statistics

Dome
Photo 
And so the build begins!!

I'll be starting off with the dome, because that sounds like the most fun...

I've got a few pieces for the holoprojector printed, and I'm currently printing the first two main dome pieces. I've been testing different materials for the dome, and will be using PETG after severely inconsistent ABS printing and at the recommendation of Eebel here on the forum. I'll probably still have some PLA and ABS parts just because I have a lot of it sitting around, but the vast majority will be PETG to take advantage of the durability, heat resistance, and ease of printing. Picked up 3 spools today to get started!

[Image: BLxEYFE.jpg]
First parts off the printer. White ABS and Grey PLA. 

Since this is my first time printing in PETG, I'm taking first print real slow at the recommendation at several sources online and will be increasing the speed slowly until I dial it in. I'm currently printing at a whopping 30mm/s! 

[Image: C0C9cXV.jpg]
Here's my little robot duo hard at work currently! 

I am curious what other people who are using PETG are printing at. The results at this speed are fantastic, but just painfully slow.

That's all for now. Now we wait!
(09-15-2018, 03:50 AM)woody Wrote: ...
I am curious what other people who are using PETG are printing at. The results at this speed are fantastic, but just painfully slow.

I only go real slow on the first couple layers (25% of PLA speeds) just to make sure it sticks to the bed, and quickly crank it up to PLA speeds after that, it sticks to itself real well. Don't use a parts fan, layer adhesion will be better without it.
(09-15-2018, 03:17 PM)LarryJ Wrote:
(09-15-2018, 03:50 AM)woody Wrote: ...