Stats
» Members: 389
» Latest member: emile1138
» Forum threads: 429
» Forum posts: 2,347

Full Statistics

Greetings from Country Victoria, Australia
Hi All,
Thanks for the Add, this is so exciting!

I'm new to the forum, and to the whole scale model building thing. I've decided to have a go at building an R2D2...but not just any R2D2. I'm attempting to build an R2D2 entertainment system. I'll be putting an LED projector in the head with Android TV (I'll hinge the Radar Eye), removable Bluetooth speaker and a set of USB charge points in the front, and a big battery to power the whole thing in the body. 

My day job is working with UAVs, and I have several years experience both working commercially  and in R&D building and tuning commercial UAVs. This has given me a decent background in the rc side of things, but the whole replica build is a bit new.

I'm planning on using the Michael Baddeley 3D printed design (v2), and building a fixed head (no spin), permanent 3 leg model. I'd love to have the retractable leg, but will need the space for the battery). The idea is to run it off a Pixhawk 2 with ArduRover set up with tank steering, and just leave to middle wheel as a trailing wheel. I might use a companion board (Pi3) if I want to get more automated.

I've bought myself a Cocoon Create Touch (Wanhao i3) printer from ALDI, and so far the test prints have come out better than expected in PLA. I'll be moving to ABS for the main build, but the printer is in the house not the garage over winter, and the ABS fumes are pretty bad.

I'm keen to hear from anyone who can provide suggestions and/or advice, especially if you have the same printer (printer resolution, fill, speed, etc).

Out of interest, has anyone modded the head design to be a screw-on dome? I'd like to keep the "clean no-screws" look of R2, but can forsee needing to take the head off from time to time.

Thanks!
Welcome to the group!

We look forward to seeing your progress.